For Official Release PR001-07312024 Office of the Governor Utulei, American Samoa July 31, 2024



Day 1 Territorial Climate Infrastructure Workshop (TCIW) 3.0

The U.S. Department of the Interior Office of Insular Affairs hosted TCIW 3.0 for the third consecutive year, beginning on Tuesday, July 30, 2024. The Honorable Carmen Cantor, Assistant Secretary of the U.S. Department of the Interior Office of International and Internal Affairs, delivered special remarks at the opening ceremony, welcoming federal partners and territorial families.

This annual TCIW meeting, funded by the U.S. Department of the Interior Office of Insular Affairs (USDOI OIA), highlights their commitment to supporting U.S. territories in the insular areas. By bringing together relevant federal agencies, they provide assistance to the territories in maximizing their opportunities to apply for and receive funding from the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL) and the Inflation Reduction Act (IRA), both signed into law by President Joseph Biden in 2020.

The Master of Ceremonies, USDOI OIA Policy Director Mr. Basil Ottley, introduced the representatives from the four territories: American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. He also acknowledged the attendance of Ms. Gretchen Sierra-Zorita, Director for Puerto Rico and Territories for the White House; Mr. John Brewer, Director of the Office of Insular Affairs; and Mr. Robert Pesapane, Director of the Office of Response and Recovery, Public Assistance Division, U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Presenting on behalf of the Territory of American Samoa was Ms. Lisa Tautalatasi Tuato'o, the American Samoa Government BILIRA team coordinator and director of the Office of Disaster Assistance and Petroleum Management (ODAPM). Ms. Tuato'o provided an overview of the priority projects in the six main areas of TCIW 3.0: Built Infrastructure, Energy, Water, Invasive Species, Nature-Based Solutions, and Broadband. She highlighted the BILIRA team's accomplishments, including securing \$277 million in funding. Ms. Tuato'o also addressed the challenges posed by federal requirements that delay the successful implementation of BILIRA

projects, and she requested collaboration from federal partners to ensure compliance while advancing these initiatives.

The American Samoa delegation consisted of department directors and staff with projects in the six main areas mentioned. Representing Built Infrastructure were Director of the Department of Public Works, Faleosina Voigt; Director of the Department of Port Administration, Falenaoti Loion Fruean; DPA engineers, Natalia Palamo and Mika Aga; and DPW staff, Na'oafioga Sagaga and Nao Tuiasosopo. Also joining the Built Infrastructure team were Director of Parks and Recreation, Ken Tupua, and DPR Grants Manager, Mile Farani, along with State Hazard Mitigation Officer, Sandi Tonumaipea, and ODAPM Grants Coordinator, Max Haleck III.

In the Broadband area, the delegation includes Deputy Director of the Department of Commerce, Michael McDonald; CEO of Blue Sky Communications, Justin Tuiasosopo; Special Projects and Grants Specialist, Edna Noga of the American Samoa Telecommunications Authority; Grants Coordinator, Tofiga Liaiga; GIS Manager, Joseph Meredith; and Gloryanna Akapo from the Department of Commerce. For the Energy area, the team comprises Deputy Director of the Territorial Energy Office, Dorien Salave'a, and AS State Energy Program Manager, Sisifo Taatiti.

The Water team includes Director of the American Samoa Environmental Protection Agency (AS EPA), Faamao Asalele; Marketing and Customer Service Manager of the American Samoa Power Authority, Ryan Tuato'o; Grants Manager, Emey Silafau; AS EPA Enforcement Officer, Kacey Ilalio; Lt. Alice Franco; and Commander Brown. The Invasive Species section features Director of the Department of Agriculture, Solia Mutini; Director of the Governor's Resilience Office, Dr. Amaamalele Tofaeone; Director of the Governor's Biodiversity Office, Tavita Togia; Division Head of AS Community College ACNR, Molly Lagai; and Denis Sene. In the Nature-Based Solutions area, the team comprises DOC Coastal Management staff, Grace Felise and Gina Faiga, along with Hazard Mitigation Planner, Camilla Stevenson Poufa of ODAPM. The ASG Hawaii Office Director, Tuiafono, and his staff, Janina Paleaae, Loretta Lees, and Vaiata Pulu, also attended the workshop.

The workshop, continuing through Friday, August 2, 2024, emphasizes enhancing local and federal engagement over detailed presentations.

###













